Read more

Œnoflair classification

Œnoflair has 9 dominant odour groups and 19 families, working in the way perfumers proceed. The dominant ones represent the overall olfactory impression of the wine: the taster selects one or even two of them. The next step is to start the detailed description by identifying families, independent of the dominant(s), and then selecting one or more descriptive terms within each of the families.

Download this table in English

Download this table in French

Download this table in German

Download this table in Italian

Download this table in Spanish



Example of an imaginary Chardonnay described using the Œnoflair classification:


More on how the Oenoflair classification works (French)